Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

Rihanna, “Te Amo.” So I am a year, or something, behind the curve here, SO WHAT.  It is a good song!  God, the beat alone makes my hips want to swivel and my hands to wiggle as if I know how to dance with, as our intro to ballroom teacher used to put it, “Latin motion.”

Swedish food. Do you know what I found in the basement of my parents’ house last week?   No, you do not.  Well.  I found Kirsten’s Cook Book: A Peek at Dining in the Past with Meals You Can Cook Today, copyright 1994 by the parent company of American Girl Dolls.  Yes, a cookbook based on the lifestyle of Kirsten Larson, fictional Swedish immigrant and pioneer girl circa 1854.  Designed with children in mind, it makes cooking easy for me.  Tonight I made potato soup with carrots, onion and (turkey) bacon!  Delicious and hearty.  Unfortunately, though, I didn’t bother considering how much the recipe would yield and now I have enough soup to feed a frontier family of 12.  Please come to the apartment and eat some.  Please.  If you are a vegetarian, I will strain out the bacon bits.  (Vegans, I’m sorry; I can’t strain the milk out.)

Emma’s kitten Dmitri. My parents have begun calling me on a near-daily basis and mentioning how they think it’s time to put Sassy down.  Sassy lives with my parents, but she is my cat, whom we adopted when I was five.  I am twenty-three now.  As I see Dmitri on a regular basis, I fear I am transferring onto him all the affection and worry I would normally shed on Sassy.  BAHAHA I MISS MY CAT.  DMITRI COME HERE.

In two weeks, I move into a new apartment! Once I get there, I will celebrate by making Swedish cabbage-and-apple “salad” with heavy cream.  Then I will dance on the Wii and cry myself to sleep because my cat is dying.

The Hairpin published an article that theorizes where the members of the Baby-Sitter’s Club would end up as adults. Enough said.

The other day when I was talking about Avril Lavigne’s new single, Rachel told me I should start a blog in which I give fake advice to pop stars.  I am seriously considering it. Good idea?  Bad idea?

1 Comment

Filed under Heather

One response to “Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

  1. Rachel

    i have since actually heard the avril song and i still feel the same way w/r/t advice

Leave a Reply

