my dear acquaintance, it’s so good to know you

First, an update!

As Rachel mentioned, she and I are both starting new jobs in the coming weeks.  (I believe hers starts this week, actually –– good luck, Rachel!  We love you!  GO BE AWESOME.)  Mine — at our alma mater! woo! — starts in ten days and in seven, I’ll actually be moving out of my parents’ house to crash with Rachel and her roommates.  Yes: until I find a place of my own, Rachel’s IKEA couch will serve as HRHF World Headquarters.  I have almost as many feelings about this as there are cats in the children’s book I Live With 500 Cats!, a product my coworker found in our stationery department.

Fine.  You called my bluff.  Though I have feelings about all these changes, they number well under 500.

Mostly, I believe that 2011 is going to be way, way better than 2010, and I’m not saying that solely because on New Year’s Day, when I opened the freezer to get English muffins for breakfast, I found an auspicious pair of Cinnabons instead.

New Year’s resolutions for 2011, Year of the Fuck Yeah:

1. Blog more/apologize less (for not blogging).  Srsly.  Also, apologize less in general.  It’s a habit ingrained from being geeky and anxious in elementary school that still, at the age of 23, gives me the shine of an elementary schoolgirl.

2. Finish [redacted], the project I started for NaNoWriMo. I’m not shooting for another Water for Elephants here, but completing the first draft would be nice.  And the second, and seventy-fifth.  On a related note, submit to more litmags.

3. Indulge in my athletic side. For Christmas, to my surprise, I was given a Wii with Wii Fit!  Insert emoticon here.  I Wii-boxed so hard over Christmas that I injured my shoulder.  Re: Wii Fit, I’m going to yoga the crap out of it.  Oh, and Rachel?  Prepare to be trounced in bowling.  At the very least, prepare to be trash-talked.

4. Cook more/cook different foods.

What resolutions do you fine gents and gentleladies have?

3 Comments

Filed under Heather

3 responses to “my dear acquaintance, it’s so good to know you

  1. andrew

    So jealous of you two/proud. No 2011 aspirations as of yet, but only time can tell.

  2. laurrren

    ummmm i really want to learn to beatbox! and quit biting my nails, its a nasty habit, but i’ve been doing it forever and dont know how to stop. and i’m totally with you about the cooking more. eating out is so expensive!

    • Heather

      I would be super impressed if you could beatbox! Also, yes, nailbiting is gross and you should quit. You can totally do both of those things! I believe in you!

Leave a Reply

