Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

DADT repeal. About time, amirite?  Yes.  Rachel has a really great and nuanced article about the subject over at Autostraddle, which discusses the ideological and practical issues that come with the implementation of the repeal, as well as the sadness of the DREAM Act’s failure.  I’m not surprised that the DREAM Act failed –– maybe it’s the circles I run in, but more of the people I know are conservative than not –– but am stoked about the DADT repeal, as I didn’t quite expect it would happen.

The Handmaid’s Tale. It’s embarrassing how long it took me to get around to reading this.  I mean, I’m 23, for goodness’s sake.  I should have read it years ago!  It is so gooooooooooooooooooooooood.  (Not crazy about the end, though; it really couldn’t have ended any differently without collapsing the tension, but still, the part of me hooked on serial dramas was dying to know, what next?)

Antibiotics. Between my jobs, I’ve had exactly two days off since the Wednesday before Thanksgiving.  So you might not be surprised to hear I was felled by sinusitis this weekend of the degree that causes people to say “Who is this?” and then, “God, you sound horrible” when one calls them on the phone.  But today I feel better!  And it’s all due to the antibiotics my doctor gave me.  Thank you, modern medicine.

Mom and I have been watching The Sing-Off on demand. There’s been a number of good numbers, but my faves have been both gender-bending and awesome.  Look at these hip, vocally-excellent seniors perform “Mercy” by Duffy!  (Skip to 1:45 for the awesomeness.)

Oh, and there’s this too, I guess:

The other day at work, a dapper elderly gentleman came to the register to buy a puzzle while singing Christmas carols.  When I said the perfunctory, “Hi, how are you?” he sang at me, “I am great, how are yooooou?”  Sang.  Like a septuagenarian Darren Criss! Then he launched into “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” and asked me to sing with him, so we caroled away while I rang him up.  Thank you, sir.  You kinda made my whole day.

LOOK AT THIS ANIMAL:

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

  1. emma

    want to touch the animal

Leave a Reply

