Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

Someone made a family of homeless Sims in The Sims 3.  Then that person documented the Sims’ lives in a blog. Even as a Sims fan, I didn’t expect much from this blog aside from personal amusement –– but the two characters and their problems are actually quite affecting/heartbreaking.  There’s also a page devoted to information about and links to various charity orgs, if you’re inclined to donate.

“That Was the Worst Christmas Ever!” by Sufjan Stevens. Not only do I work at two different retail stores, but the project I’m working on for NaNoWriMo is set at Christmastime, which effectively requires me to listen to holiday music every hour of the day.*  When I can’t take the jollity anymore, I click on this song.  It’s quiet and spookily depressing and oddly, cheers me up quite a bit.

GRAEME TAYLOR! Obvs.

I’m sure you’ve all heard about this but: Baz Luhrmann’s making an adaptation of Gatsby starring Carey Mulligan as Daisy. Giving me exactly one reason to like Daisy. (#daisybuchananistheworst)

And now for the obligatory Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows coverage:

Autostraddle wrote a piece about Harry Potter, and Rachel helped! Harry Potter, I am not a lesbian, but I love you too.  I love you enough that in seventh grade, when my best friend went as Hermione Granger for Halloween –– thus making it impossible, in the unspoken rules of our friendship, for me to go as Hermione Granger –– I went as a female Harry Potter, though every adult handing out candy in the local community seemed to find it weird.  I love you so much that the following year, I won an official Sorcerer’s Stone film poster because I was the only kid in Mr. [Redacted]’s four English classes to get a perfect score on a Harry Potter trivia quiz.

Merlin’s pants, the first installment of Deathly Hallows is a great movie. The Doctor and I went to Thursday’s midnight showing and agreed it’s our favorite of the films.  Admittedly, I have a history of declaring each HP movie (as well as each HP book) my favorite as soon as it opens; however, this one avoids the problem I generally have with HP movies, which is that I love it until the last ten minutes, when the filmmakers inevitably leave out something mega important.  (Dumbledore’s funeral comes to mind.)  But Deathly Hallows Part 1, but virtue of being part 1, ends partway through the book!  So the writers don’t cut out any important information!  Also, Rupert Grint got hot.  Which leads me to

Ron Weasley. If I had one unattainable dream in middle school, it was that Hogwarts was a real school and McGonagall had just handed my acceptance letter to an owl.  If I had a second unattainable dream, it was that Ron Weasley was a real person who would leave Hermione to Krum because he had met me.  Oh, be still my heart.

*When I write, I feel like I have to put on music thematically appropriate for the story.  For NaNo, I’ve been playing a lot of holiday stuff, crappy pop music, and Tegan & Sara.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

