Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

The DADT injunction. About fucking time, amirite?  Too bad it’s bound to be repealed.  But still, a step in the right direction!

Greg Rucka’s piece on io9 about story research. Smart, incisive, interesting.  Guys, the Internet is all well and good –– is evermore Super Great –– but sometimes when you’re trying to write a story, it’s not enough.  I’m with Greg Rucka on this: the practice of research has gone way down, with some authors.  I mean, Olive Kitteridge was very well-written, but Elizabeth Strout should know that Dunkin Donuts does not employ waitresses.

The Poisonwood Bible, Barbara Kingsolver. I’m only about 150 pages in, but so far it’s good.  Adah is clearly the best.  I kind of want the father to die of malaria, but it’s clear from the way she subtly condemns him that I am supposed to want this.

This picture of kittens that Emma found:

I made this my laptop wallpaper and I’m not gonna lie, it does make me feel a little better when I’m stressed.

ZooBorns. An entire website devoted to baby zoo animals.  OMFG.

Leave a comment

Filed under Heather

Leave a Reply

