Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

Buckle in, ladies, gents, and robots.  There’s a whole heck of stuff this week.

Judge Vaughn Walker overturned Prop 8!! FINALLY someone does this!  About freaking time, amirite?

The literary drinking game on Jezebel. For Lord Byron, I propose that you drink red wine from a plastic human skull every time he describes the landscape in detail; when he makes a sex joke, take a shot.  When Miranda July or George Saunders have a line of dialogue that doesn’t sound like a real person talking, sip some cheap proletarian beer.  Every time Michael Chabon takes a break from narrative to spin an intricate, flowing, paragraph-long sentence, down some cognac.  Whenever Neil Gaiman introduces a hapless male character or a mysterious supernatural authority of some kind, drink mead from a flask.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt. I mean, obviously.  Also, I found this on his Tumblr:

MC Escher and Legos makes an awesome combination.  I approve!  Wish I had that Lego kit when I was a kid, instead of the girly-pink ranch.  (Okay, in addition to the ranch.)

Pomplamoose does “Telephone”:

And heroines from Jane Austen novels start a fight club:

This one went viral like a week ago.  I’m so behind on the interwebs.  But it’s so awesome!  No Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, but it’s up there.  Certainly better, I imagine, than Dawn of the Dreadfuls, which has so many inconsistencies with its sequel, one wonders if the writer of DotD even read PPZ.

Tegan & Sara. Through a surprise turn of fortune, I ended up at a Paramore/Tegan and Sara show recently, and T&S were excellent!  Not only are they great musicians, but they are the politest I’ve ever seen.  Always saying “thank you so much” after, literally, every song!  Tegan and Sara Quinn seem like genuinely nice people.  I would like to be their friend.  We could sit on the stoop and drink chai, if they drink that.  Do they drink chai?  I bet Autostraddle would know.

Paramore’s “The Only Exception” and “Playing God.” My cousin is the reason I went to this concert; she loves them, suddenly, and when we discovered they (along with T&S) would be playing locally in a few days, she immediately decided we should go and insisted I borrow her Riot! and Brand New Eyes CDs.  Paramore is okay. Their music’s pretty emo, but sometimes that’s fulfilling, you know?  “The Only Exception” is sweet, although the first verse strikes me as stilted (not that I can write music at all), and I dig the refrain in “Playing God” that goes, “Next time you point a finger I might have to bend it back and break it, break it off!”  Hayley Williams takes no one’s shit.  Oh, and did I mention she’s got more energy than a wind farm?  Boy howdy, you should have seen that girl dance.  And she kept on-key, too.  I’d like to drink chai with Tegan and Sara, sure, but I’d like to party with Hayley Williams.

The State invented a card game. It’s going to be the next big thing, so you should probably start playing it now before mustachioed hipsters wedge their way in and ruin everything.

1 Comment

Filed under Heather

One response to “Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

  1. andrew

    i am so behind on internet related silliness

Leave a Reply

