Stuff Rachel Fucking Hates

When pictures tagged as Malcolm X are actually of Denzel Washington in the Malcolm X biopic Seriously, HOW CAN YOU NOT TELL THE DIFFERENCE

Someone missed their “sketch swap mailing” We get a lot of mail for the people who used to live at this house, which I always throw out because we don’t have their forwarding address. But recently we got one for a name that as far as I can tell didn’t live here because she was not a male grad student in engineering, but it was a sketch swap exchange and I wish I had an address to forward it to her, because that sounds like something you’d be looking forward to getting. Sorry, Nancy.

I’ve never seen My So-Called Life I feel like I would have turned out a more normal/complete person if I had watched it when I was younger? I mean I guess that’s the point, is that it’s not about “being normal” or whatever, but watching G Gundam with your little brother when you get home from school doesn’t really help your development as a human being.

Actually I’ve like never seen any TV ever This week JP (my co-barista) and I had to have a serious conversation about our relationship, because he keeps trying to reference lines from movies and TV shows with me, and I finally had to be like “JP, this can’t be how we relate. It isn’t going to work. I haven’t seen like any TV ever.” “Well then, what are we going to relate about?” he asked. We settled finally, uneasily, on making fun of lousy bands and hating our customers. But apparently that really doesn’t compare to a good shared enjoyment of Seinfeld. Which I have never seen.

Um, it turns out the economy sucks? I have a job, and I am really thankful for that, and I should remember that when I complain about people who decide they wanted their iced decaf mocha cappucinos not iced at all actually. Once in a while there are these little reminders that break through my privileged more-than-minimum-wage haze and give me the chills, like the people who occasionally come in looking for an application, and won’t leave even after I tell them we don’t have one, and desperately ask to speak to a manager in the hopes that it will make their resume somehow different from the other ones we have on file. One of the dishwashers just got fired, and while I understand the reasons for doing it, I know he has a toddler at home and considering that the other dishwashers work 60-80 hours a week to feed their families, I can’t imagine what he’s doing. It sucks, you know? It really, really does. In related news, though, Emma maybe has a job? Go baby go!

“Morning Dessert”/”Sex For Breakfast” on Christina Aguilera’s new album Listen, I’m sorry, these are just embarrassingly terrible.

I don’t know, I feel like there should be more, but I’m tired and I didn’t take my nap today, so. Heather is staying Chez Emma and Moi and wishes me to inform you that the Stuff She Thinks Is Great will probably be up tomorrow morning, she has a very busy social life, you will all just have to suck it up. She didn’t actually say that last part, I did. Anyways.

1 Comment

Filed under Rachel

One response to “Stuff Rachel Fucking Hates

  1. Heather

    People mistake Denzel for Malcolm X?! That’s not just atrocious, that’s incredibly embarrassing. I can’t even believe that.

Leave a Reply

