Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

Rodeo Disco 2. Readers in the NYC area: get off the computer and go to this party tomorrow!  My colleague/BFFL Rachel will be there, as will at least half of Autostraddle, probably all of Autostraddle.  Also, one of the DJs goes by DJ Saratonin.  (Pardon me, chortling break: Ho ho!  Ha ha ha!)  “Saratonin” would totally be my DJ name if A) it weren’t taken, B) I knew how to DJ and C) my name were Sara(h).

Nerve’s Internet-wide collection of recut movie trailers. How did YouTube user Skitch1 possibly make Saving Private Ryan into a comedy?  But s/he did, s/he did.  It’s all in the music, you guys.

Tonight, Franz Ferdinand. Why did I ever stop listening to Franz Ferdinand?  Clearly, my tenth-grade backwards-Tshirt-wearing self knew what was up.  FRANZ FERDINAND ARE THE GREATEST, ROCK ON 4 LYFE*

I really want to start using homemade beauty remedies. And Jezebel posted about this very subject on Monday!  Oh frabjous day!  I’ve already begun using olive oil as makeup remover, and after I go to the grocery store tomorrow I’ll start trying everything else.  Anyone else with me?  It will be like Vegan July, but for our face/hair/skin and not actually vegan, as there is a lot of honey involved (and eggs, in one recipe, but I am not brave enough to slather my face in egg).  Maybe we can call it All-Natural July?  Face Food July?  Open to suggestions.  These names are terrible.

Tavi Gevinson guesting on Jezebel. For a fourteen-year-old, the Girlblogger Extraordinaire is unbelievably grown-up and thoughtful!  Far smarter and saavier than I ever was.  Hell, probably saavier than I am now.  I can’t wait to see where she is in a few years.

*Obviously “4 lyfe” is a joke, but seeing it there onscreen in front of me makes my eyes want to bleed.  Pardon me, my spelling snobbery is showing.

3 Comments

Filed under Heather

3 responses to “Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

  1. Kendra

    I want to e-hug you for saying “frabjous day.”

  2. Rachel

    I was similarly fascinated with that Jezebel post, and since I am out of conditioner I am seriously considering using apple cider vinegar instead.

  3. Peter

    That was a really excellent trailer. I am always amazed when people can pull these off.

    I think I once saw one for … oh, here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Os6raCCmAFk

Leave a Reply

