Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

Strap in, cats and kittens.  There’s a lot this week. This quote from Marilyn Wann: “You cannot hate people for their own good.” Enough said. Matthew Morrison and Lea Michele performing at the Tonys:

Honestly, I found myself a bit attracted to Matthew Morrison in this video.  I know, it was a huge shock to me also.  And Lea Michele?  My goodness, does that woman put on a Barbra voice!  I hadn’t realized quite how much even she is Autotuned on Glee until I saw her perform “Don’t Rain On My Parade” a second time here.  This makes me a little disappointed in Glee, but super excited for Lea Michele.

Miranda July interviews one-half of the Blow. Batia found this the other day and posted it to me and Rachel –– it’s an old interview, from The Believer, but we really like Khaela Maricich and Miranda July, so there’s that.  It turns out they are friends!  Raise your hand if you’re surprised.  I see no hands.  No takers?  None?  Okay then.

Janelle Monaé, “Tightrope”:

From the text introduction to this video, I expected some kind of Flash Gordon-esque Palace of Ming the Merciless –– Fido the Fearless, whatever –– and ended up with Janelle Monaé dancing on a table.  But boy howdy, how I could watch her dance on that table all day!  I know she’s supposed to be the next big thing and it looks conformist of me to like her, but who cares, I like her and want that CD.

Middlesex, Jeffrey Eugenides. Okay, so it took me nine years to read this book.  But I read it in three days!  Not since Kavalier & Clay have I gone through 500+ pages so earnestly.  (Apart from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, but, I mean, that barely counts.)  As expected, it was a sweeping epic of three generations and their relationship problems, of the variety that makes wannabe writers like me read it and feel overwhelmed at even the thought of organizing such a novel.  No wonder it won the Pulitzer.  I salute you, Mr. Eugenides!  You must have outrageous outlining skills.

The closing arguments are in for the Prop 8 trial and as usual, Rachel is all on top of it. As always, her recap is important for the state of the union and your funny bone, presuming said bone wasn’t surgically removed.

Insignificant Others, Stephen McCauley. We were lucky enough to see him read from this on Wednesday!  Slash we are lucky enough to know him in real life.  He’s charming and snarky, as is the book, which I finished yesterday.  (If you don’t believe me, look at all the reviews it’s gotten!) Go read it right now.

Kaki King, Dreaming of Revenge. Admittedly not driving music, as I discovered when I popped this CD in the car stereo.  But quite excellent for atmospheric, writing/doing-whatever music.

The whipped feta spread Rachel sent me home with. Slash the trend in which I visit Rachel’s apartment and she sends me home with food.

4 Comments

Filed under Heather

4 responses to “Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

  1. Have you bothered to read Insignificant Others?
    Or do you just read the reviews?
    Now, that’s snarky!!!!

    • Rachel

      I can’t tell if you’re being serious or not but I guess I’ll assume you are: I’ve already read it, I liked it a lot. Heather is probs going to read it this week. Steve is a personal friend of both of ours so trust me, we’ll both “bother to read it”

    • Heather

      I read it over the past few days and thoroughly enjoyed it. Are you a fan of Steve’s?

      • Heather

        ETA: Just clicked on your name. I guess you are a fan! I hadn’t realized you wrote one of the reviews I linked to.

Leave a Reply

