Stuff Rachel Fucking Hates

To be honest, there is not a whole lot for me to bitch about this week. I have tickets to the Monster Ball! I am on spring break! I have spent this weekend so far with awesome people! Someone just bought me a really fucking sweet tea strainer! There was a sale at the liquor store today! I’m gonna hang out with my mom! But I’m going to find some stuff to complain about anyways. Don’t ever say I don’t treat you right.

When you apply to a thing and they say you’ll hear back from them by March 20 but you don’t Seriously, what is this, it’s like March 28 right now. If I was eight days late with anything I would be failed/fired from my unpaid job(s).

Research studies on stress that are themselves very stressful It seems like someone should have foreseen this problem? I’m a paid participant in a research study on stress right now, part of which study involves me entering my feelings into a PalmPilot every few hours. They ask questions like “How stressed have you been in the last hour?” If your answer is anything besides “not at all,” they ask “What was the most stressful event of the last hour?” I hate this because a) all the things I answer seem really pathetic, like “had to decide whether we should take my car or my friend’s.” and b) roughly 80% of my answers have to do with the study itself. Like “I was moderately stressed in the last hour because for a while I couldn’t find this PalmPilot.” Ultimately this was not worth $60.

Is it acceptable to just wear a “bandeau” as a bra? Can I do that? I don’t really want to go into detail, but I’ve had a variety of negative bra experiences this weekend. I’m a small enough cup size that I only borderline need to wear a bra at all, and I like to imagine that wearing a bandeau has all the benefits of a sports bra without the huge unsightly straps of a sports bra. I am 90% sure Heather is rolling her eyes right now and saying “No, Rachel, everyone knows you can’t do that, were you raised in a cave?” The answer is yes, I was.

Listening to other people talk about LOST when you don’t watch LOST Heather, I swear this is not directed at you. But I did spend like an hour experiencing this on Wednesday, and became increasingly belligerent. “Wow, guys, you know what’s really not interesting? Is listening to you talk.”

Sometimes you want to make cookies but don’t have the stuff to make cookies And let me tell you, that sucks.

My spring break will maybe not actually be that awesome? All I am doing is going home. Normally this is fine, even ideal; all I ever really want to do in life is watch Skins with my pants off and eat dosa, after all.  But Lesbian Spring Break ’10 aka Dinah Shore is happening over my spring break, and it’s not even that I’m not going because after all I can get drunk and sunburned at home, but that it’s my job to fucking liveblog the experiences of every single person I know who is. Seriously, this is a thing I have to do. I will be doing this while everyone else I know is doing this in Palm Springs. Tune in to autostraddle over the next week and a half!

9 Comments

Filed under Rachel

9 responses to “Stuff Rachel Fucking Hates

  1. Hey, the definition of bandeau is “an undergarment worn by women to support their breasts”–I vote go for it.

    Of course, last year I decided that I was done with bras and fuck that, so maybe I am not the most authoritative source.

  2. Heather

    Actually, I think the bandeau idea is a super good one. As someone who spent the majority of 1999 wishing I could pull off a bandeau like Jessica Alba in Never Been Kissed and knowing it would never happen, I say take the opportunities you can!

    I’ve also been thinking recently that maybe the writing program meant March 30, and 20 was a typo they made….?

  3. emma

    in re bras: i went to old navy today and i picked up some interesting bras that were like a sports bra/molded shelf bra with thin straps. they’re not the most flattering thing i’ve ever put on my boobs, but they’re comfortable and sort of cute and i feel like they’ll be good for when i don’t want to wear real bras, seeing as i have “tig ole bitties” (thanks jewish genes) and must always wear a bra.

  4. emma

    also I HATE LISTENING TO PEOPLE TALK ABOUT LOST.

  5. Batia

    If the bandeau works for you, go for it. Revel in your ability to do so.

    In other (borderline tmi?) news, I really want to go here:
    http://www.myintimacy.com/homepage.html
    It’s the place they go on What’s Not to Wear!

  6. I also really want to be going to Lesbian Spring Break ’10, and because i am staying home I feel like Rudolph the red-nosed lesbian, and cannot wrestle in jello or talk about feelings or any of the other lesbian games.

Leave a Reply

