Stuff Rachel Fucking Hates

Being a bad blogger Um, that was a pretty embarrassing week for me! Thanks for holding up the team, Heather. Mostly it’s just hard to have feelings about anything besides my thesis, and having thesis feelings makes me tired.

My thesis I look back wistfully now to a year ago when I was all “Why is everyone else freaking out about this thesis thing? They are so melodramatic, all you have to do is just write it, blah blah blah.” I could not even imagine feeling a deep sense of self-loathing and constant distress over what was essentially a glorified English assignment. Now, I cannot imagine not feeling this way. For those of you who are not friends with me on Facebook, I’d like to share the list Emma made of “activities the thesis 2010 writers enjoy:”

-working on our thesis (occasionally)
-not working on our thesis
-turning down social invitations to work on our thesis and then not actually working on it
-neglecting our other coursework to work on our thesis and still not actually working on it
-eating
-crying
-eating while crying
-shopping online
-drinking wine
-reading and re-reading emails from our advisors, looking for hidden meaning
-occasionally remembering that we still have to write the bibliography

Eh, eh, eh, nothing else I can say.

In related news: people who don’t get Lady Gaga. This isn’t even about people who don’t like Lady Gaga. (Although I clearly have some issues with them too.) Like, if you understand her work and see what she’s doing and it just doesn’t work for you, fine. We’re all adults, we all have our own tastes, maybe you just prefer Lyle Lovett. Whatever. But people like this upset me because they either haven’t taken the time or are too dumb to distinguish between Lady Gaga and the Pussycat Dolls. It just makes me so angry! That is what I love about Lady Gaga – that she operates on the principle that the American public is smarter than it’s ever been given credit for, and that it’s ready for more than just a pretty blonde girl with very nice abs who sings love songs (although obviously she also does that.) And then people like this come along and it’s like they’re trying to prove her wrong.  In protest, I would like to share my most recent favorite Lady Gaga quote, from that badass interview/shoot she did with Q magazine.

“The last thing any young person needs is another photo of a woman rubbing her glistening tits, enjoying life, because that’s not how we fucking feel.”

THANKYOUVERYMUCH. Also, um, shameless plug, but did I tell you about this script Peter wrote that will turn every youtube comment into a Gaga quote? Because that exists.
I cannot find my favorite sweater or favorite tank top I have this sinking feeling that I may have accidentally thrown my sweater out myself? I feel like in a fit of “being a grownup” I was like “Rachel, this is full of holes and also doesn’t fit you and is also from like Gap Men’s, maybe you should let go of this” and gave it to Big Brothers Big Sisters. BUT I WAS WRONG, I should not have let go of that, it was a great sweater. Also did I mention the favorite tank top was really good for layering under the favorite sweater? #firstworldproblems

Apparently I’ve become one of those people who uses hashtags even not on twitter How does that happen?

2 Comments

Filed under Rachel

2 responses to “Stuff Rachel Fucking Hates

  1. Batia

    That list of thesis activities hits a little too close to home.

Leave a Reply

