Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

The cute bookshelf imagery of iBooks. But not so much, upon clearing my head of Wednesday’s Apple-fizzle, the iPad itself, which still lacks Flash rendering and multi-application usage. Oh, and it’s got the worst name ever. Wherefore the iSlate?

Cameron on Modern Family. Totes the best, amirite? (Also, fun fact! Eric Stonestreet, who plays Cameron, played Sheldon the “Your mother called…. She’s a handful” desk clerk in Almost Famous! Sheldon the desk clerk is one of my favorite parts of that whole movie. Along with all the other parts of it.)

Amber Rubarth’s “You Will Love This Song.” I do, Amber! I do! I am sorry the person you wrote it for felt differently, but I am very glad you wrote it.

Shout-out to my fellow thesis writers! On occasion I get fed up with my thesis and decide that the whole endeavor has been a poor idea from the start, but even then, I am glad to be ranked among your numbers. We should have more get-togethers of gossip, olive tapenade and cheese blocks.

If Matthew Weiner brought Salvatore Romano back onto Mad Men. OH WAIT, that’s not happening. When Pete Campbell stole American Tobacco for SCDP, I can’t say I didn’t foresee this coming, but can’t we just overlook period accuracy in this one instance? Maybe Sal could come back later into Season 4? Do it for the Nielsens. Do it for the happiness of your audience, while has been so very kind to you. Come on, dude!

Guys, look how cool this Helvetica cookie cutters are:
You know you want them, let’s be real. Who wouldn’t? I make cookies from a box and I still want them.

DAVID BOIES AND JUDGE WALKER. Because they know what’s up. Namely: that it is not 1963. So why is California treating its LGBTQ citizens as if they are Salvatore Romano and the state Don Draper?

In a related note, let’s talk “heteronormativity”! My Queer Studies class spent two (of three) sessions this week just deconstructing the concept. I do not think I have enjoyed a class more in a long time. Judith Butler? Roderick Ferguson? Yes, please!

Push, Sapphire. Yes, it’s time already: the other session for that class was spent discussing this, which we had to read for homework. Did I think I was braced for it? Yes. Was I? No way in hell. Am I really glad I finally read this, because it is important and engaging and intelligent and raw? For sure. Like everyone else’s who has read this book, my heart broke on every paragraph. Totally worth it.

On a lighter note, libraries are all the rage this week: Flavorwire has a list up of their favorite library-referencing tracks and over in Britain, some citizens decided to create the world’s smallest library in one of their phone booths.

1 Comment

Filed under Heather

One response to “Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

  1. Rachel

    i feel like those helvetica cookie cutters are everything i want in life. also love the prop8/mad men comparison. obvs.

Leave a Reply

