two thumbs sideways

I know you’re all a little sad that you don’t get to hear my opinions about hot new movies more often. SO, here’s a special treat. (Don’t get too excited, though, because there’s only two of them.)

UP: I liked this movie a lot, and I’mma let you finish, but I cried more at Wall-E.

(In retrospect, though, the amount I cried at Wall-E may have been kind of irrational.)

Avatar: Okay, I know people have A Lot of Feelings on this one. I guess I walked away mostly feeling like I agreed with everyone? Like, I agree with everyone about how life-changing and awesome the special effects are, it’s so visually stunning, I wish my great-grandfather could have lived to see this day, etc. And then I also agree with everyone who said it was – let me find it – “a white fantasy about race… [in which a] white guy manages to get himself accepted into a closed society of people of color and eventually becomes its most awesome member.” I am also tempted to paraphrase my Canadian webcomic idol Joey Comeau and say “Avatar is like making out with someone super hot, but dumb as shit. Which, let’s be honest, has its place.”

More than any of that, though, my number one feeling is this: Papyrus? Really? That was the best you could come up with?

Hosted by imgur.com

Also, just because I think they are hilarious, my dad’s thoughts immediately afterwards:

“You know, suddenly those robot suit things where you can walk around inside them are just everywhere! Like, there was one in District 9, remember?”

1 Comment

Filed under Rachel

One response to “two thumbs sideways

  1. Heather

    District 9 IS THE BEST

Leave a Reply

