Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

“The Ceiling,” Kevin Brockmeier. Have I talked about this story yet? If so I apologize, but I reread it a few days ago; it is beautiful and strange and exactly the sort of thing I want to write.

The SYTYCD finale. Number one: congrats, Jeanine!! Number two: these two hours of television have made me wracked with envy. You there, in 1993, Baby Heather –– just wait out those classes a bit longer! Six more months and you’ll be old enough to switch from ballet to jazz!

Adult Swim (e.g. Metalocalypse, Aqua Teen Hunger Force). I know I’m, like, six years behind the curve here, but those… those are really funny, guys.

True Blood. ZOMFG YOU GUYS

“Saint Chola,” K. Kvashay-Boyle. From the very first sentence of this story it’s clear that this falls under the Rachel Would Love This category (like “The Tears of Squonk, and What Happened Thereafter,” another story I read this week –– I will lend it to you, Raquel!), but by the end of the first passage it was also snug in the Heather Loves This category as well. A crisp, matter-of-fact account of pubescence, full of little heartbreaking moments that come and go without comment (and are more poignant for that). K. Kvashay-Boyle, I’m Googling you later.

Sabra-brand hummus (roasted pine nuts flavor). The fact that I can buy this at the grocery store astounds me. It’s so tasty, it ought to be sold only at expensive food stores I have to drive forty-five minutes to get to. Combine it with whole-wheat naan, and mm-mmm! A cross-cultural culinary explosion!

“Do Not Disturb,” A.M. Homes. The only other A.M. Homes story I’ve ever read pivoted on a sentient Barbie doll and the twisted relationship she has with her owner’s older brother. This one, however, quite surprised me –– solid realism! My God, the amount of emotion in this piece on cancer almost killed me. Those emotions the characters experience aren’t the ones you’d expect, though, which just makes it better.

My grandparents. You might know them as the physical embodiments of the word “chipper.”

Organic strawberries. Is it just me, or do these taste better than the non-organic strawberries we usually buy? They just taste sweeter.

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Junot Diaz. Inhaled it in two days.

Not Always Right. Thank you, Peter, for showing this to me!  Makes me feel good about where I work –– I may get a fair share of weird customers, but very few as extreme as the ones on this site.  Jeepers!  I mean, at least the people I meet understand biology.

5 Comments

Filed under Heather

5 responses to “Stuff Heather Thinks is Super Great

  1. Batia

    You should know that it is widely accepted among the Israeli community of Champaign-Urbana that Sabra brand hummus is, in fact, the only brand of hummus that is worth buying.

  2. Peter

    Have you seen Sealab 2021 or Harvey Birdman: Attorney at Law? Those two crack me up more than I can understand.

  3. Emma

    heard non-organic strawberries get peed on by angry, maltreated farm workers 😦

Leave a Reply

