Stuff Rachel Fucking Hates

Internet Explorer. Goodness! I had forgotten how unpleasant this is to use until my laptop broke, and I had to use my dad’s old desktop. IE is dumb and confusing, and they have hidden all the ways to change settings to make it less dumb and confusing, because that is “user-friendly.” Thanks for existing, Firefox.

The murder of Dr. Tiller. I remember when I was really young, maybe six or seven, and I found out that Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. had not died of natural causes, but been murdered. I asked my mother why someone had done that (I was still at an age where I thought everything had a reason, and I must just not understand it) and she told me it was “because they didn’t agree with his ideas.” I almost didn’t believe her, because it just sounded too ridiculous to be true. You don’t kill someone because you don’t agree with their ideas. I still feel the same way now, about this. How completely, totally incomprehensible. And how sad, too, that his family has to deal with every single citizen and talking head on TV weighing in somehow, when they just need to grieve.

When people have delicious microwave meals that smell fantastic in the staff room for lunch, and all I have to eat is a baggie of pretzels. I am looking at you here, Martha.

The way that sometimes the little squishy parts of SkullCandy headphones will fall off in your purse. Does anyone else have this problem?

People who are too into their cats. I really never thought I would feel this way. I love cats; I have three of them. But my latest internship is pushing me a little over the edge. The house is so heavily steeped in cat-smell that even hours after I’ve left I can still detect it on my clothes; my boss frequently breaks off in the middle of a sentence to address one of her pets (“So what I’ll need you to next is – oh, what is it, honey? Do you want to sit in my lap? Is that what you want?”), and on my very first day I learned more about their different medications than I did about the job. Jesus Christ.

1 Comment

Filed under Rachel

One response to “Stuff Rachel Fucking Hates

  1. Heather

    Remember when you made a side-by-side comparison of cats versus children? Well, I didn’t decide I like cats any less, but I am thinking these days that kids are pretty okay. Other peoples’ anyway. (Then again, I would be all for spoiling your boss’s cats, even if they were hairless and wrinkled a la Mr. Bigglesworth.)

Leave a Reply

