top five: things i am enjoying right now

Thesis Pages: 13

Lady Gaga. As has been documented previously, I hate liking things that everyone else likes. But I can’t help it this time. Lady Gaga represents the perfect balance for me; like Jonny McGovern or Boy George, she is something that I can enjoy ironically and genuinely at the same time. On the one hand, she is completely ridiculous, and also crazy. Like, she performs in an outfit made entirely out of bubbles. Her lyrics are silly. (“I wanna take a ride on your disco stick”? Honey, no you don’t.) But you know what? Her voice is fantastic. And there is something going on with the silly lyrics; like, “Just Dance” is as fun to dance to as the name implies, but it also kind of makes my skin crawl when I realize it is being sung by someone who will probably end up in an alley at the end of the night. And while her commitment to fabulousness is kind of funny, it is also really awesome. You may have noticed that Jonny McGovern and Boy George are both super gay; so is Lady Gaga, in a really nice way. I don’t think she kisses ladies, but she puts on a live show that puts both Cher and Liberace to shame in its outrageous glamorousness. She just likes to party, you know?

The People of Paper. Oh goodness this book is wonderful. I haven’t read very much of it yet, but so far it is like One Hundred Years of Solitude but weirder, which is everything I want in my life.

Reading user reviews of vampire erotica. Conveniently, this is my job now, so that makes it not weird, right? Most Amazon reviews of vampire erotica are well-reasoned, well-written evaluations; in fact, most of them might be a little higher quality than more normal genre reviews. But sometimes you get stuff like this:

“The book would be better titled HOMOerotic stories. Every short story focuses on sex with a vampire and all but one are graphic same sex couplings. I don’t really have a problem with that except that it is not my bag and I felt tricked that I bought a gay sex book. I actually bought the book for my wife who likes vampire stories, I read it because I read everything that comes into the house. She couldn’t finish it and I had to force myself. It would have helped if the writing was less amateurish.”

So, to recap: Dudes doing each other is weird. Buying vampire eroticafor your wife,” and “forcing” yourself to read all of it, and also demanding to read everything that comes into the house – not weird.  Good to know!

M.I.A.’s Kala. Damn, girl. Damn. I broke my headphones this week, and was upset about it pretty much only because that made it harder to listen to this album at least once a day, as I had been doing previously. “Hussel” is such a good song! I think it may have been on the Slumdog soundtrack, but whatever. It is so good! So good!

Making homemade ice cream. Oh goodness, that ice cream maker was a good investment. Delicious!

3 Comments

Filed under Rachel

3 responses to “top five: things i am enjoying right now

  1. Peter

    Everything about this post is great. Also, is that Jonny McGovern the soccer coach?

  2. Heather

    1. My mom’s opinion on both Lady Gaga and Karen O, since they seem interchangeable to her: “She looks like a space alien!”

    2. When did you get an ice cream maker, and why didn’t you tell me right away?

    • Rachel

      Let’s be real, though. Lady Gaga really does look like a space alien. Also, I have had the ice cream maker for like two years now. It is pretty sweet.

Leave a Reply

