elevator going up

Since Rachel posted about her plans for the summer, at least vis-a-vis books, I felt inspired to write my own to-do list. And the State suggested I ought to post it up, too, in a compare-and-contrast deal. So: largely, and by that I mean “currently” and “solely,” my plan for the summer is to drown myself in media, whether it is created by me or created by someone far greater than me. Right now, that means reading

  • The Things They Carried, Tim O’Brien [note: finished this yesterday, but it was unfinished when I made this list, so up it goes]
  • Reading Like a Writer, Francine Prose
  • The House on Fortune Street, Margot Livesey [all right, so I got intrigues by an entry or two on Rachel’s list]
  • Writing Fiction, Janet Burroway
  • The Fortress of Solitude and You Don’t Love Me Yet, Jonathan Lethem
  • The Good People of New York, Thisbe Nissen
  • Dear Husband, Joyce Carol Oates
  • In Persuasion Nation, George Saunders
  • a couple short-story collections I half-read and then forgot about during finals
  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Jonathan Safran Foer
  • You Are Not the One, Vestal McIntyre
  • A Model World, Michael Chabon [I will be damned if August arrives and I haven’t tackled this]
  • The Progress of Love; Open Secrets; and Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage, all Alice Munro
  • The House of Sleep, Jonathan Coe [so many good writers named Jonathan…]
  • Armadillo, William Boyd
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger

Hoo boy, that is long. Aw, well. There’s three and a half whole months ’til classes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Heather

Leave a Reply

