Stuff Rachel Fucking Hates

Hey everyone, sorry I’ve been gone so long. It’s been a long week, and I’ve been busy having real-life feelings. Don’t worry, though. I still hate plenty of stuff.

Still having homework even though it is supposed to be 85 today. All I want to do is go back to bed – but outside.

Racism. In the course of about a week, my university has:  suggested dissolving the African- and Afro-American Studies department, undergone an internal trial in which white students protested the position of a Racial Minority Senator because it made them feel discrimated against, and published a student editorial in which the author says he “fails to perceive any benefit from interacting with people of other racial backgrounds.” Jesus Christ. I don’t even know what to say.

The ending of Grease. What the fuck, Sandy?

Miss California. I think I’ve only watched any of the Miss America pageant once; all I remember was Miss Massachusetts singing opera. Why couldn’t Miss California have just done that instead? “For my talent, I will confirm the rest of the nation’s suspicions that my state is full of homophobic assholes.” Also, what is Perez Hilton doing there? Maybe I don’t really understand how this works.

Cleaning up after other people’s parties. Are you listening, people whose party I had to clean up after last night?

Driving children to suicide. In the past few weeks, two eleven-year-olds have killed themselves after prolonged taunting and abuse from their classmates, which their respective schools did little or nothing to stop. Both Carl Joseph Walker-Hoover and Jaheem Herrera were the targets of cruel, and specifically anti-gay, bullying at their schools; it got bad enough for both of them that they managed to kill themselves at only 11. Neither of these boys identified as gay, but that doesn’t really matter. Combined with the case of Lawrence King, it’s becoming ridiculously obvious that schools which ignore anti-gay slurs and bullying are not only negligent, but completely unconcerned with the physical safety and emotional well-being of any student who might even be perceived as gay.

How stain-y hair oil is. It is so good for my hair, and so bad for my clothes

How expensive pressure cookers are. Guys, I am looking for help. Which would be a better investment – a slow cooker, a rice cooker, or a pressure cooker? I want something that’s really multi-use; like, something that I could cook a lot of different foods/meals in. A slow cooker obvs does that, but sometimes you don’t want to wait 8 hours to eat. A rice cooker would only cook rice – or so you would think. This intriguing article implies otherwise – and also is written by Roger Ebert? A pressure cooker can be used for anything from brisket to potatoes to steaming broccoli, and is supposed to cut your cooking time by 2/3 or something. But they also cost as much as a plane ticket and are kind of intimidating/scary. Thoughts? –

2 Comments

Filed under Rachel

2 responses to “Stuff Rachel Fucking Hates

  1. Heather

    i vote rice cooker, because you can make a whole slew of meals with rice: tacos! burritos! stir fry! other things with meat in them!

  2. Peter

    Hey, I don’t think the internet knows what an AAAS is.

Leave a Reply

