calling all women

Friends, Romans, countryladies, lend me your ears!  (Or eyes, I guess.)  Let me tell you a story:

Recently I decided to start a litzine that only prints work by female-bodied or female-identified people.  I read one of many recent (actually kind of legit!) trend pieces talking about the gender gap in literary culture, wherein litmags and other publications (looking at you, Harper’s) published and reviewed way more work by men than by women.  You can see infographics of VIDA’s study at their website; it’s pretty depressing.  So right then and there, sitting at my work desk, I decided to set up an outlet that published only things by women.

Oh dear.

Depressing, right?

Anyway, Broad! is online now (!!) and needs contributors desperately.  I don’t have the money right now to pay you if your work is accepted, but I will send you a copy of the first issue!  Submissions should be sent to broadzine [at] gmail [dot] com and guidelines can be found on the zine’s blog.  Deadline’s October 1.  If you don’t receive a response from us within eight weeks, feel free to track me down via Google and stop me on my walk home from the office (or, alternatively, send me a chastising email).

We can always use volunteers to proofread, edit or otherwise help out with the publication as well.  Shoot me an email or post a comment if you’re interested!

2 Comments

Filed under Heather

2 responses to “calling all women

  1. Hi Heather,
    Wishing you all the best in your new venture. I am pretty busy for the next two works but would love to jump on board as a writer. In the meantime I will keep abreast of how things are going with you via Twitter and your blog.

    Kind regards,
    @mariposaaqui

  2. Hi Heather,
    Wishing you all the best in your new venture. I am pretty busy for the next two weeks but would love to jump on board as a writer. In the meantime I will keep abreast of what is going on via Twitter and your blog.

    Best regards,

    @mariposaaqui

Leave a comment